My old time radio shows

Gene Autry

From 1940 to 1956, Autry had a huge hit with a weekly show on CBS Radio, Gene Autry's Melody Ranch. His horse, Champion, also had a CBS-TV and Mutual radio series, The Adventures of Champion. He created the Cowboy Code, or Cowboy Commandments, in response to his young radio listeners aspiring to emulate him. Under his code, the Cowboy must:


* never shoot first, hit a smaller man, or take unfair advantage.

* never go back on his word, or a trust confided in him.

* always tell the truth.

* be gentle with children, the elderly and animals.

* not advocate or possess racially or religiously intolerant ideas.

* help people in distress.

* be a good worker.

* keep himself clean in thought, speech, action and personal habits.

* respect women, parents and his nation's laws.

* be a patriot.

The show was a combination western/musical.


Episode Title [Total of: 76]CategoryRating
1 - Gene Autry's Melody Ranch - Robber Crashes Plane Ep.93
Episode date: N/A
2 - Gene Autry's Melody Ranch - 12th Anniversary Show E150
Episode date: N/A
3 - Gene Autry's Melody Ranch - Buck and Kate Ep.143
Episode date: 1951-9-1
4 - Gene Autry's Melody Ranch - Cattlemen's Associat Ep.88
Episode date: 1951-6-9
5 - Gene Autry's Melody Ranch - Champion Saves Genes Life
Episode date: 1956-1-29
6 - Gene Autry's Melody Ranch - Church in Willow Valley
Episode date: 1953-9-20
7 - Gene Autry's Melody Ranch - Cody Bennett Dams up Lake
Episode date: 1951-6-16
8 - Gene Autry's Melody Ranch - Convict Looking for Ep.101
Episode date: N/A
9 - Gene Autry's Melody Ranch - Dan Furgerson Gang Ep.123
Episode date: N/A
10 - Gene Autry's Melody Ranch - Doc Reardon Is Tried for
Episode date: 1949-9-17

Please consult our search section if you do not find what you are looking for or contact us and send us an email with your request.